All dogs in Ohio must be physically confined at all times or under the reasonable control of some person.
Your dog license is your dog's ticket home if it is ever lost or runs away. In addition, state law requires that you purchase a license for your dog, failure to purchase a license may result in a citation. Dogs impounded wearing a license must be held for fourteen days as opposed to three days without a license. A certified letter must be sent to the dog owner's address if the dog is wearing a current license. If you have your license on your dog we can contact you immediately, we also can give your dog medical attention if necessary that may save its life.
All dogs three months of age or older must be licensed.
No, if your dog is licensed for the current year in another Ohio county you do not need to register with Sandusky County until January 31 of the following year, or you may transfer your current license to a Sandusky County license for a $5 fee.
No, state law does not permit the Sandusky County Dog Shelter to handle cats.
You may surrender your dog to the Dog Shelter for a fee. We will do our best to find your dog a home, however we cannot guarantee you that your dog will be adopted. If your dog exhibits any aggression or has bitten in the past it will be euthanized to ensure public safety.
No, the Sandusky County Dog Shelter handles licensing and confinement whereas the Humane Society of Sandusky County handles cat adoptions, owner surrenders and injured animals.
The Sandusky County Dog Shelter has a volunteer program for persons 18 years of age or older. For more information please visit the volunteer page.
Please spay or neuter your animals and ensure that your dogs are licensed and confined. The Sandusky County Dog Shelter accepts donations please see the donation page for more information.